Press Release - Henrique Mota, new FEP President, and FEP new Board elected 

The Federation of European Publishers met in Stockholm and Turku on 16th-17th June and elected Henrique Mota, founder and CEO of the Portuguese Publishing House Principia, as new President of the Federation.

Henrique Mota says: “I am honoured to have been elected as President of FEP. I am aware that at the eve of proposals that might have a major effect on our sector, publishers will have to keep on demonstrating their relevance in this brave new world. Knowing how important the role of publishers is and will continue to be in the copyright value chain, and how crucial it is that all the stakeholders of the book ecosystem can sustain their activities, I count on all FEP members and colleagues from sister organisations to work together to achieve these goals”.

The assembly also elected Rudy Vanschoonbeek as Vice-President. Rudy Vanschoonbeek is founder and CEO of Vrijdag Uitgevers in Antwerp, Belgium, and President of the Flemish Publishers’ Association (Vlaamse uitgevers Vereniging).

The new Treasurer is Benedikt Foeger, Publisher at Austrian Publishing House Czernin Verlag and President of the Austrian Publishers’ Association (Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels).

The President also announced his intention to extend FEP board. Apart from the President, the Vice-President, the Treasurer and FEP Director Anne Bergman-Tahon, members of the new Board are: Piero Attanasio, Head of Research and Development and of International Affairs, Italian Publishers Association (Associazione Italiana Editori); Former FEP President Pierre Dutilleul, recently appointed as General Director of the Syndicat national de l’Edition (SNE) and Jessica Sänger, Legal Advisor of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association (Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels e.V).

The outgoing President Pierre Dutilleul was thanked for all his achievements for FEP.

The Federation of European Publishers represents 28 national book publishers’ associations in the European Union and the European Economic Area.
PDF version here.

For more information, contact Anne Bergman-Tahon: 003227701110