European Union Prize for Literature

The aim of the European Prize for Literature is to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

The prize is financed by the Culture Programme of the European Union.

As the consortium selected by the Commission to coordinate the initiative, the European Booksellers Federation (EBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) are jointly responsible for the setting up of the national juries and the practical organisation of the award ceremony.

In three years (2009-2011), the juries of eleven or twelve of the 35 countries participating in the EU Culture Programme, will select one emerging fiction writer from their own country.

The selected countries in 2013

  • Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Luxembourg, The Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia and Spain.

The selected countries in 2012

  • Austria , Croatia , France , Hungary , Ireland , Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland , Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden